Wiffle Lever To Full!

Daleks, Death Stars and Dreamy Sci-Fi Nostalgia…

Oh Brendan, Stop Honking!

I watched K-9 And Company tonight, for the first time since Christmas 1981.

For those heathen non-believers out there who aren’t aware, this was Doctor Who’s one-off spin-off (and try saying that after half a bottle of QC Cream and a Toblerone) from the early Eighties, pitching his trusty companion Sarah Jane Smith and her prissy metal dog K-9 against a coven of pagan warlocks and witches who seem to worship the goddess Hecate. Although Hecate was the Greek Goddess of Crossroads, so I’m not sure how that works. And ‘Greek Goddess of Crossroads’, what a great job to have! Presumably if she knuckled down and worked hard then eventually she could move on to being Witch Queen of Emmerdale Farm. Hem hem.

It was great. The only drawback being that it’s set at Christmas, so releasing it on DVD in the week of the Summer Solstice seems like the act of some twisted, BBC scheduling pervert. But I turned all the lights off, ate a mince pie and pretended that my family were all in the room being annoying, and that put me fully into the festive spirit. Even moreso when I discovered that also included on the DVD are the first few minutes of the Christmas Eve edition of Pebble Mill At One. From 1981! The theme music alone took me back thirty odd years, and that was before I caught sight of Bob Langley in a Santa suit.

Anyway, it’s worth the entrance money alone for the opening titles of the main feature, which are still enough to make me laugh so hard that little globules of QC Cream trickle down my nose. Here you go, fill your boots…

If that’s not worth £17.99 of anyone’s money, then I don’t know what is. I’d like to see Series 3 of Torchwood get a similar treatment.

4 Comments»

  Wez Jr wrote @

That is one of the funniest things I’ve seen for some time. Thanks for putting it up!
Why she is drinking wine at a desk in the open air is beyond me. And then going jogging with leg warmers!

  bobfischer wrote @

Thanks to K-9 and Company, I now do all of my work at a desk in the open air with a bottle of wine in front of me. I start at 9.30am every day, and usually wake up at about 3.15 in the afternoon, steaming drunk and soaking wet.

  Drew Smith wrote @

I think it is your duty to recreate this title sequence shot for shot with your own cardboard K-9.

  bobfischer wrote @

You are, of course, SO right. James Harris, are you reading this?


Leave a Reply

