Wiffle Lever To Full!

Daleks, Death Stars and Dreamy Sci-Fi Nostalgia…

Out Of The Closet

I’ve had to start biting the bullet today and actually start telling people about my book. That’s how it works, apparently – you can’t just publish these things and then hide in the spare room, you have to ask people nicely to buy it as well. It’s called “marketing”. It’ll never catch on.

So I’ve been setting up a Facebook group (called “Wiffle Lever To Full”), a Myspace page (www.myspace.com/wifflelevertofull) and I’m starting to make mention of this madness on a few internet forums that I’m a member of. Everyone’s been really nice so far, and these are the three questions I’ve been asked most often…

1. Can I have a signed copy?
2. Was it all just geeky blokes in bad costumes at these things?
3. Can I come to the launch party?

To which the answers are Yes, No, and Possibly, But We Don’t Want Any Trouble.

Not necessarily in that order. 

It also seems like those real ropes have done the trick,  and I might have an expert viral film-maker (that is he makes viral films, he’s not ill or anything. Although admittedly he did look a bit peaky when I saw him last week, but he had eaten very little apart from Jaffa Cakes that day) on board, and he claims to know a bloke from an acting class that dresses up as a Star Wars Stormtrooper in his spare time. I’d like to think he sits at home in uniform watching Cash In The Attic from the sofa, scratching his codpiece and occasionally tapping his comlink when he wants his wife to turn up the volume. Rises wheezily from the settee and says “Just off to check the tractor beam, luv” when he needs to go for a wee.

So hopefully there might be something on Youtube soon. That’ll never catch on, either. It’s just like the telly, but smaller and more rubbish.

I also noticed this morning that Wiffle Lever To Full! had risen to an all-time high 7,524 in the Amazon Sales Rank. Get in! (as they say around these parts)

    

3 Comments»

  John Williams wrote @

Can I come to the launch party?

  John Williams wrote @

Especially as I’m not interested in a signed copy.

  bobfischer wrote @

Possibly, but we don’t want any trouble.


Leave a Reply

